MaxBat, made in USA, ships in 1 - 2 weeks, rush available

Pro Series C4R

  • Birch or maple
  • Drop +2 to -3
  • Barrel 2.44 in, small
  • Handle 0.94 in, medium
  • Knob standard
  • Balance not stated
MaxBat Pro Series C4R, game wood bats, adult: photo from MaxBat
Lengths30 to 35 in
Barrel2.44 in, small
Handle0.94 in, medium
Knobstandard
Balancenot stated
Photo: MaxBat

Facts as the maker states them, read 13 Oct 2026

The Pro Series C4R is a wood bat offered in Rock Maple or Yellow Birch in lengths of 30 to 35 inches, with a medium handle (15/16 in. diameter), medium barrel (2 7/16 in.), and a standard knob. The page describes it as featuring the C4 handle and states it is made in the USA.

Model codeC4R
WoodBirch or maple
What this means

Birch. Softer than maple and more forgiving of mis-hits; hardens with use. A good choice for a first wood bat and for younger players.

Maple. Dense and hard, the most common pro wood. Hits hard and holds up when the player squares the ball up; breaks rather than flakes when mis-hit. Quality varies a lot by maker.

Tip: Maple from a good maker is the best wood bat money can buy; maple from a cheap one is the worst.

Wood gradeour acceptable grain slope is no more than 2 degrees
Drop+2 to -3
What this means

Drop is length minus weight: a 30 in, 20 oz bat is a -10. A bigger drop number means a lighter bat for its length. Younger players use -10 to -13; USSSA 13U is usually capped at -5; high school and college are -3.

Tip: Check the drop your league allows before you look at anything else.

BarrelMedium Barrel, 2 7/16"; slimmer barrel (description)
What this means

A thinner barrel (under about 2.45 in on a wood bat), with less wood to hit with. Its size does not decide the balance: some skinny-barrel bats are end-loaded.

HandleMedium Handle, 15/16"; features the C4 handle (description)
What this means

About 0.93 to 0.96 in. The usual choice: enough whip, enough strength.

Tip: Most players never need to think about this one.

KnobStandard
What this means

A traditional round knob. The simplest feel and what most beginners should start with.

Lengths30, 31, 31.25, 31.5, 31.75, 32, 32.25, 32.5, 32.75, 33, 33.25, 33.5, 33.75, 34, 34.25, 34.5, 34.75, 35 in
Barrel endCustomer choice
Compared on the pageThis bat features the C4 handle with a slimmer barrel resulting in better balance, more pop, and greater durability.
FinishesStandard Finish (included); MaxPro Finish (+$30.00); barrel and handle finish Gloss or Matte; handle/barrel transition Fade or Clean
Custom optionsLength: 30 to 35 (default 33.0 in; list in lengths_in) | Weight: 35.0 oz (2) down to 30.0 oz (-3) (default 31.0 oz (-2)) | Wood: Rock Maple; Yellow Birch | Finish: Standard Finish; MaxPro Finish (+$30.00) | Barrel finish: Gloss; Matte | Handle finish: Gloss; Matte | Transition: Fade; Clean | Barrel shape: Standard Barrel (included); Torpedo Barrel (+$40.00) | Grip: Yes (+$18.99 - $16.99); No | Engraving: Free Custom Engraving | Knob: Standard Knob (included); X Knob (+$10.00); ProXR Knob (+$25.00); ProXR Epic Knob (+$25.00) | Smart Ready: Not Smart Ready; Smart Ready (+$10.00); Smart Bundle (+$139.95) | Cupped end: Yes; No | Production: Standard; Rush ($30.00 fee) | Colors shown: Barrel Navy; Handle Navy | Logo: label only, no value shown
Lead timeShips in 1 - 2 weeks, rush available; estimated to ship 10/27/2026 (standard) or 10/20/2026 (rush, $30.00 fee)
AvailabilityMade to order
Made inUSA
The maker says
  • The C4 handle with a slimmer barrel gives better balance, more pop and greater durability.
  • A great bat for players at all levels looking for ample hitting surface and comfortable grip.
  • The torpedo barrel removes mass from the end.
  • The mass is moved to the sweet spot zone.
  • The ProXR knob is for players who prefer a more aggressive, fully connected feel.
  • The straighter the grain, the stronger the wood.
Sourcemaxbats.com, product page, read 13 Oct 2026

Pat's Grade one person's opinion, with the reason

Not yet graded

Patrick has not graded this line yet. A line not handled yet says Not yet graded, never a low grade.

We have no dealer or affiliate relationship with MaxBat. If that changes it will say so here, and the grade will not move. How we grade

Evidence public reviews and break reports, with links

Public reviews of MaxBat are thin. They are gathered by maker; each source says which product or line it covers.

What "buyer reports" means

Public review counts and themes we found for this maker, with links, plus break reports sent in by site users. Where we found nothing public we say so.

  • Bat DigestIndependent review: Max Wood (2020)Score 65 of 100These grades look formula-based (several makers share the same scores), so we do not use them.The review likes: control sub-rating 4.88 of 5The review raises: durability sub-rating 1.5 of 5; value sub-rating 2.48 of 5 (read it there)
  • JustBatsRetailer ratings: MaxBat Center Cut Rock Maple JBMB1N4.0 of 5, 1 review
  • TrustburnOther source: company-level reviews4.1 of 5, 8 reviewsThe source says: good feel and balance; quality and craftsmanship; easy site and smooth ordering; helpful staff in choosing a batThe source raises: none in the eight reviews (read it there)

Also checked, with no ratings or themes to report: Better Baseball, Woodworker's Journal.

Break reports from players on this site

0 break reports so far.

Report a break

Player reviews on this site

0 player reviews so far.

Review this bat
Your rating