MaxBat, made in USA, ships in 1 - 2 weeks, rush available. Standard est. ship 10/27/2026

Pro Series 356

  • Birch or maple
  • Drop +2 to -2.5
  • Barrel 2.53 in, medium
  • Handle 0.91 in, thin
  • Knob standard
  • Balance not stated
MaxBat Pro Series 356, game wood bats, adult: photo from MaxBat
Lengths32 to 35 in
Barrel2.53 in, medium
Handle0.91 in, thin
Knobstandard
Balancenot stated
Photo: MaxBat

Facts as the maker states them, read 13 Oct 2026

The Pro Series 356 is a rock maple or yellow birch bat with a long 2 17/32 inch barrel and a medium 29/32 inch handle. The page lists lengths from 32 to 35 inches and a drop range of +2 to -2.5, with a cupped-end choice and selectable knob, barrel shape and grip.

Model code356
WoodBirch or maple
What this means

Birch. Softer than maple and more forgiving of mis-hits; hardens with use. A good choice for a first wood bat and for younger players.

Maple. Dense and hard, the most common pro wood. Hits hard and holds up when the player squares the ball up; breaks rather than flakes when mis-hit. Quality varies a lot by maker.

Tip: Maple from a good maker is the best wood bat money can buy; maple from a cheap one is the worst.

Drop+2 to -2.5
What this means

Drop is length minus weight: a 30 in, 20 oz bat is a -10. A bigger drop number means a lighter bat for its length. Younger players use -10 to -13; USSSA 13U is usually capped at -5; high school and college are -3.

Tip: Check the drop your league allows before you look at anything else.

BarrelLarge Barrel, 2 17/32"; Long barrel
What this means

The middle of the range (about 2.45 to 2.55 in). Most pro turn models live here.

Tip: A safe default when you are not sure.

HandleMedium Handle, 29/32" Dia.
What this means

A handle under about 0.93 in. It whips through the zone and feels fast, but it stings more on mis-hits and, in wood, breaks more easily. Common on pro models.

Tip: Thin handles and young hands do not mix well in cold weather; expect sting.

KnobStandard
What this means

A traditional round knob. The simplest feel and what most beginners should start with.

Lengths32, 32.25, 32.5, 32.75, 33, 33.25, 33.5, 33.75, 34, 34.25, 34.5, 34.75, 35 in
Barrel endCustomer choice
FinishesFinish: Standard Finish (included); MaxPro Finish (+$30.00). Barrel finish: Gloss; Matte. Handle finish: Gloss; Matte. Handle/barrel transition: Fade; Clean. Barrel and handle colors: not listed on page.
Custom optionsKnob: Traditional (included); X Knob (+$10.00); ProXR Knob (+$25.00); ProXR Epic Knob (+$25.00). Barrel shape: Standard (included); Torpedo (+$0.00). Grip: Yes (+$18.99 - $16.99); No. Cupped end: Yes; No. Smart Ready: Not Smart Ready; Smart Ready (+$10.00); Smart Bundle (+$139.95). Production: Standard; Rush ($30.00 fee).
Lead timeShips in 1 - 2 weeks, rush available. Standard est. ship 10/27/2026; rush est. 10/20/2026 with $30.00 fee
AvailabilityMade to order
Made inUSA
The maker says
  • Long barrel, medium handle, and medium knob. Crafted for Rick Ankiel when he was transitioning from pitching to outfield.
  • The Model 356 torpedo barrel shape removes mass from the end, where it is not needed.
  • The flared X-Knob helps protect the hamate bone from bruising, and greatly increases the bat's balance.
  • The ProXR Epic pairs ProXR's legendary ergonomics with a no-knob design to deliver a streamlined minimal knob.
  • Maple & Birch models will be ink tested.
  • All Maple and Birch Pro Series bats pass this test.
  • MADE IN THE USA.
Sourcemaxbats.com, product page, read 13 Oct 2026

Pat's Grade one person's opinion, with the reason

Not yet graded

Patrick has not graded this line yet. A line not handled yet says Not yet graded, never a low grade.

We have no dealer or affiliate relationship with MaxBat. If that changes it will say so here, and the grade will not move. How we grade

Evidence public reviews and break reports, with links

Public reviews of MaxBat are thin. They are gathered by maker; each source says which product or line it covers.

What "buyer reports" means

Public review counts and themes we found for this maker, with links, plus break reports sent in by site users. Where we found nothing public we say so.

  • Bat DigestIndependent review: Max Wood (2020)Score 65 of 100These grades look formula-based (several makers share the same scores), so we do not use them.The review likes: control sub-rating 4.88 of 5The review raises: durability sub-rating 1.5 of 5; value sub-rating 2.48 of 5 (read it there)
  • JustBatsRetailer ratings: MaxBat Center Cut Rock Maple JBMB1N4.0 of 5, 1 review
  • TrustburnOther source: company-level reviews4.1 of 5, 8 reviewsThe source says: good feel and balance; quality and craftsmanship; easy site and smooth ordering; helpful staff in choosing a batThe source raises: none in the eight reviews (read it there)

Also checked, with no ratings or themes to report: Better Baseball, Woodworker's Journal.

Break reports from players on this site

0 break reports so far.

Report a break

Player reviews on this site

0 player reviews so far.

Review this bat
Your rating