MaxBat, made in USA, please allow 3-5 Days to Ship for featured Stock Colors, as Bats are unfinished to allow for Custom Colors.
Fiberglass Reinforced Maples
- Maple
- Drop not stated
- Barrel large
- Handle medium
- Knob not stated
- Balance not stated
Facts as the maker states them, read 13 Oct 2026
The page covers three maple models, 243, 271 and AP5, each with a medium handle. The maple turnings are reinforced with high-strength fiberglass that is epoxy vacuum bonded to the handle.
| Model code | 243; 271; AP5 |
|---|---|
| Wood | MapleWhat this meansDense and hard, the most common pro wood. Hits hard and holds up when the player squares the ball up; breaks rather than flakes when mis-hit. Quality varies a lot by maker. Tip: Maple from a good maker is the best wood bat money can buy; maple from a cheap one is the worst. |
| Barrel | Large Barrel (Model 243 and Model AP5); Medium Barrel (Model 271)What this meansA big barrel (about 2.56 in and up) gives the most hitting surface. Its size does not decide the balance: some big-barrel bats are balanced. |
| Handle | Medium HandleWhat this meansAbout 0.93 to 0.96 in. The usual choice: enough whip, enough strength. Tip: Most players never need to think about this one. |
| Finishes | 243: Black Barrel / Black Handle / Chrome Logo; 271: Maroon Barrel / Black Handle / Silver Logo; AP5: Rally Barrel / Black Handle / Carbon Fiber Logo |
| Custom options | Model selector (243; 271; AP5, colorways in finish_options); Length (label only, no choices listed); Custom colors on unfinished bats (page wording) |
| Warranty | Comes with a 120-Day Warranty. |
| Lead time | Please allow 3-5 Days to Ship for featured Stock Colors, as Bats are unfinished to allow for Custom Colors. |
| Availability | Out of stock |
| Made in | USA |
| The maker says |
|
| Source | maxbats.com, product page, read 13 Oct 2026 |
Pat's Grade one person's opinion, with the reason
Patrick has not graded this line yet. A line not handled yet says Not yet graded, never a low grade.
We have no dealer or affiliate relationship with MaxBat. If that changes it will say so here, and the grade will not move. How we grade
Evidence public reviews and break reports, with links
Public reviews of MaxBat are thin. They are gathered by maker; each source says which product or line it covers.
What "buyer reports" means
Public review counts and themes we found for this maker, with links, plus break reports sent in by site users. Where we found nothing public we say so.
- Bat DigestIndependent review: Max Wood (2020)Score 65 of 100These grades look formula-based (several makers share the same scores), so we do not use them.The review likes: control sub-rating 4.88 of 5The review raises: durability sub-rating 1.5 of 5; value sub-rating 2.48 of 5 (read it there)
- JustBatsRetailer ratings: MaxBat Center Cut Rock Maple JBMB1N4.0 of 5, 1 review
- TrustburnOther source: company-level reviews4.1 of 5, 8 reviewsThe source says: good feel and balance; quality and craftsmanship; easy site and smooth ordering; helpful staff in choosing a batThe source raises: none in the eight reviews (read it there)
Also checked, with no ratings or themes to report: Better Baseball, Woodworker's Journal.
Break reports from players on this site
0 break reports so far.
Report a break
Player reviews on this site
0 player reviews so far.